Asheville Area Riverfront Redevelopment Commission

The Asheville Area Riverfront Redevelopment Commission consists of 14 members - 2 members appointed by the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners, with one being a County Commissioner; 5 members appointed by City Council, with one being a City Council member; 2 members appointed by the Asheville Area Chamber of Commerce; 2 members appointed by RiverLink; 2 members appointed by the Council of Independent Business Owners; and 1 member appointed by the Woodfin Town of Aldermen. Each appointing body shall ensure that at least one half of their appointees are an owner of real property or an owner of a business in the Regional Riverfront. The Town of Woodfin, having only 1 appointee, is exempted from the ownership requirement.

The Commission shall (1) recommend to the City and County an overall policy for the continued development and sustainability of the regional riverfront; (2) provide recommendations to the City and County for effective management of the public resources for the districts; (3) actively pursue and assist private sector investment in the districts; and (4) cooperate with, evaluate and represent the recommendations of other organizations, including, but not limited to, property owners, merchants, residents, businesses, tenants, non-profits, institutions and other members of the riverfront and regional riverfront district communities.

Regular Meeting Schedule

The Commission meets at 4:00 p.m. on the 2nd Thursday of each month in the Chamber of Commerce Board Room at 36 Montford Avenue.

The AARRC Networking Subcommittee meets at 4:00 PM on the 1st Monday of each month at The Wedge at Foundation Studios. 

The AARRC Design Review Subcommittee meets as needed. 

The Planning and Design Review Committee of the Asheville Area Riverfront Redevelopment Commission will meet in the 5th floor of City Hall at 11 am, Monday October 8th. The purpose of the meeting is to perform Design Review on one or more projects in the Wilma Dykeman RiverWay corridor, including the Jettie Rae's Restaurant proposal for 144 Riverside Drive. 

Members, please mark your calendars. Updated submitted/materials are due to staff by 5 pm Monday October 1; we will post them via Google Drive and email you the location the following morning.  

Notice: No notices at this time. 

River District Design Review

Design review includes architectural review of all construction work requiring building, sign, demolition, zoning permits, and variance requests within the River District.

The purpose of design review is to preserve the character of the area, protect and enhance unique sites and structure, and to encourage investments that will increase pedestrian connections and density while promoting and managing the riparian areas of local rivers.

The Review Process

Anyone planning construction work in the River District must have their proposal reviewed by Planning & Development Department staff, and by the AARRC Design Review Subcommittee if the project is a Major Works. While review is mandatory, compliance is voluntary. There is no fee for review.

Renovation, rehabilitation, and construction that promotes visual harmony, enhances the historical integrity of the area, and recognizes environmental constraints is encouraged by the review process.

River District Design Review Documents

 Contact the City of Asheville’s Planning & Development Department staff prior to making an application to discuss the proposed plans and determine what information is required for submission. (828) 259-5846.

For more information on City of Asheville Riverfront Redevelopment efforts, visit this page.

Contact Information

Chairman: Carleton Collins

Staff Liaison: Sara Henry

Strategic Development Office

Phone: 828-232-4583


AARRC Adopted Ordinance and By Laws

Adopted Resolution and City Ordinance By Laws Member Roster (March 2016)

AARRC Annual Reports 

Annual Report 2017

Annual Report 2016

Annual Report 2015

Annual Report 2014

 Annual Report 2013

Annual Report 2012

AARRC Monthly Meeting Documents: 

All minutes are archived by year for review.