Neighborhood Advisory Committee

Notice of  Remote Meeting

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that the next meeting of the Neighborhood Advisory Committee of the City of Asheville will be held on January 24, 2022, from 5:00 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.  Direct link to the meeting and information can be found at

Pursuant to North Carolina General Statute § 166A-19.24(f) this will be a remote meeting which the public can access by any of the following means:

NOTICE:  The agenda commenting period will close at 5:00 p.m. on January 21.  All public comments will be sent to the committee prior to the meeting; there are no live call-in comments for this meeting.

The Committee consists of nine members, all appointed by City Council, with representation from specific community sectors.  Members shall be residents of the City or the City’s extra-territorial zoning jurisdiction and shall reflect the socio-economic diversity of Asheville.  The term of office is three years.

The Committee was established to advise the City Council on neighborhoods within the City of Asheville’s zoning and planning jurisdiction.  The Committee shall have the following powers and duties:

  1. Develop rules and by-laws for the conduct of its business, including but not limited to meeting schedules, officers, voting, sub-committees;
  2. Develop a plan to strengthen neighborhood identity and resilience, and to facilitate communication and cooperation between Asheville’s neighborhoods and City offices;
  3. Develop benchmarks and standards by which progress towards implementing the plan can be measured; and
  4. Work on special projects that are consistent with the goals of the committee, as assigned or directed by the City Council.

Neighborhood Hero Award

Neighborhood Hero Award for 2019 will be honored at an upcoming Neighborhood Advisory Committee.  More details as soon as the date is confirmed.  Thanks for the nominations received!

Our 2018 Neighborhood Hero Award winner was Sophie Dixon, President of the Shiloh Community Association.  Ms. Dixon was recognized at the regular meeting of the City Council on May 28 for her contributions to her community.  Read more about Sophie Dixon and her work in the Shiloh Community and the Neighborhood Hero Award on Asheville City Source.

Regular Scheduled Meetings

The Committee meets on the fourth Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m. virtually unless otherwise noted.  Check the agenda for current meeting details.


Upcoming Meeting Dates

All meetings since March 2020 were canceled due to the COVID response.  The next meeting for this committee is scheduled for November 29, 2021.  The committee will be monthly.  


Member contact representing 28805 zip code:  Sharon Sumrall

Member contact representing at-large: Greta Bush, Mike Wasmer, Peter Abzug Elizabeth Likis-Werle

Member contact representing 28801 zip code: JP Chalarca

Member contact representing 28804 zip code: Wendy Haner

Member contact representing 28806 or 28728 zip codes: Anna Sexton (Chair)

Member contact representing 28803 or 28704 zip codes: Bobbette Mays (Vice-Chair)

Meeting Agendas and Documents


Agendas and Documents



November 29, 2021 November 29, 2021 Documents
October 25, 2021 October 25, 2021 Documents
September 27, 2021 September 27, 2021 Documents
August 23, 2021 August 23, 2021 Documents
July 26, 2021 July 26, 2021 Documents
June 28, 2021 June 28, 2021 Documents
May 24, 2021 May 24, 2021 Documents
April 26, 2021 Retreat Agenda April 26, 2021 Documents
February 22, 2021 February 22, 2021 Documents


December 14, 2020 Agenda December 14, 2020 Documents
March-November 2020  Meetings were canceled due to COVID-19
February 24, 2020 Agenda February 24, 2020 Documents
January 27, 2020 Agenda January 27, 2020 Documents


December 16, 2019 Agenda December 16, 2019 Documents
November 18, 2019 Agenda November 18, 2019 Documents
October 28, 2019 Agenda October 28, 2019 Documents
September 23, 2019 Agenda September 23, 2019 Documents
August 26, 2019 Agenda August 26, 2019 Documents
July 22, 2019 Agenda July 22, 2019 Documents
June 27, 2019 Retreat Agenda June 27, 2019 Documents
May 27, 2019 Agenda Meeting Canceled
April 22, 2019 Agenda April 22, 2019 Documents
March 25, 2019 Agenda March 25, 2019 Documents
February 25, 2019 Agenda February 25, 2019 Documents
January 28, 2019 Agenda January 28, 2019 Documents


Review and Resource Documents


Plans are developed through extensive community engagement processes, and implementation is considered on an annual basis through the city’s budgetary and business planning cycle. Visit Communication and Public Engagements to review The City Plans.


Committee Reports

2015 Annual Report

2016 Annual Report

2017 Annual Report

2018 Annual Report

2019 Annual Report

2020 Annual Report

Goals for 2017-2018

Goals for 2018-2019

Goals for 2019-2020


Contact Information

Neighborhood Services:

Jeremy Lett, Interim Neighborhood and Community Engagement Manager


Phone:  828-226-6725 Mobile/Text



Updated 8/10/21