Multimodal Transportation Commission

The mission of the Multimodal Transportation Commission (MMTC) is to assist the City in furthering, advancing, and promoting a comprehensive and integrative transportation system that incorporates multimodal concepts, including but not limited to transit, bicycle and pedestrian facilities, greenways, complete streets, and highways.

To find out more about the sub-committees associated with these concepts visit the Greenway CommitteeTransit Committee, and Bicycle/Pedestrian Task Force pages.

The Commission consists of 9 voting members and 3 non-voting members, all of whom shall be residents of the City of Asheville. Two voting members represent transit interests, two voting members represent greenway interests, two voting members represent bicycle/pedestrian interests, and three are at-large members. One representative each from the Neighborhood Advisory Committee, Planning and Zoning Commission, and Sustainability Advisory Committee on Energy and the Environment are ex-officio non-voting members.

Members shall represent various modes of transportation to include, but not be limited to: transit, greenways, automobiles, bikes, pedestrians.  Members shall possess expertise and interest in the sustainability and development of multimodal transportation and demonstrate a willingness to participate actively in Commission efforts.

The Commission will:

  • Recommend policies for the development/integration of multimodal transportation planning and education to the City
  • Assist with the development of a multimodal transportation system
  • Assist the City with the implementation of best management practices for educating the public on the benefits of multimodal transportation
  • Assist in the sustainability, development, and implementation of the multimodal transportation plan
  • Assist in the prioritization of the Capital Improvement Plan as it relates to multimodal transportation projects


Regular Meeting Schedule

The Commission meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month beginning at 3:00 p.m to 5:00 pm. in the First Floor Conference Room of City Hall.

Member contact: Richard Lee,  Randy Warren (Vice-Chair),  Anna Sexton, Joe Archibald, Patricia  KatzKenneth Armstrong, and Michael Stratton (Chair), Dennis Wencel

PLEASE NOTE:  Future Multimodal Transportation Commission meetings will be held by a virtual meeting every other month beginning on Wednesday, August 26, 2020.  More information will become available closer to the meeting dates.  Thank you.

Meetings Agendas and Documents

2019/07/24 07/24/2019 Agenda and Documents
2019/06/26 06/26/2019 Agenda and Documents
2019/08/28 08/28/2019 Agenda and Documents
2019/09/25 09/25/2019 Agenda and Documents
2019/10/30 10/30/19 MMTC Retreat Agenda
2019/10/30 10/30/19 MMTC Regular Meeting Agenda
2020/01/21 01/21/2020 MMTC Meeting Agenda
2020/02/26 02/26/2020 MMTC Meeting Agenda

2020/06/24  – 06/24/2020 MMTC Meeting Agenda
2020/08/26 –


Pursuant to North Carolina General Statute § 166A-19.24(f) this will be a remote meeting which the public can access by any of the following means:

Review and Resource Documents

FY2019-2020 MMTC Annual Report 

FY2018-19 MMTC Annual Report


Updated 10/22/2019