Civic Center Commission

The Civic Center Commission consists of nine voting members; seven voting members shall be appointed by the City Council and two voting members shall be appointed by the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners. The term of office is three years. The Commission reviews and makes recommendations on programming goals and objectives; long-range plans; proposals for changes in the fees and charges; and encourages promotion of sports, recreation, entertainment, and cultural events and activities at the Civic Center.


Regular Scheduled Meetings


The commission meets on the first Tuesday of each month at 4 p.m., at the Civic Center in the Banquet Hall. The normal length of the meeting is two hours.




 Member Contact: Chair Cory Atkins (Chairman), Eric Burns, Yvonne Cook-Riley, Greg Duff, Kimberly Hunter, Bill Jones, Christine Sykes Lowe, Thomas Van Slambrouck, and Kyle Smith

Staff and Partner Liaisons: Chris Corl (General Manager, USCC), Sam Powers (Community & Economic Development Director, City of Asheville), Demp Brad Bradford (President, Asheville Buncombe Regional Sports Commission), and Dianna Pierce (Vice President of Sales, Explore Asheville CVB)


U.S. Cellular Center Asheville

For additional information please call 828-259-5433


Contact Information


For more information on The Civic Center Commission contact Christopher Corl 


Updated 11/12/2019


Related Services

Request public records

Visit this web portal to search and discover any public records previously or commonly requested as well as make a request for any new public records.        

Civic Center Commission News

Photo of 4 people voting
Asheville City Council takes next step toward reinstating at-large elections and nonpartisan municipal primaries  

    Asheville City Council took a step closer to amending its charter to reinstate at-large elections for all Council members and nonpartisan Council primaries by holding public hearings on the matter during their Sept. 24 meeting. The City’s charter is listed in Chapter 1 of the Municipal Code, posted on the City’s website.   During the [...]

USCC meeting photo
Asheville City Council moves Sept. 24 meeting to USCC Banquet Hall

Update: Because tonight’s Ashville City Council meeting is offsite, we will not be able to show presentations on the live stream. For people who want to follow along, here is a link to them however.   Original post: The next formal meeting of the Asheville City Council will be held at 5 p.m. Sept. 24 in [...]