Public Art and Cultural Commission

The Public Art and Cultural Commission is responsible for promoting and maintaining art displays in public buildings and public spaces in the City of Asheville. The Commission assists in bringing public art into public spaces, is responsible for approving the site and content of public art and recommends to City Council works of art for acceptance. They inform residents and visitors of Asheville about public art and engage public art as a major attraction for artists, cultural tourism, and economic development to advance The City of Asheville as an “arts destination.” The Commission is also responsible for developing a procedure for the selection of art/ or artists, which will include public input as well as appropriate staff review. The Public Art Board shall follow its Public Art Policy and Implementation Guidelines as modified and/or amended every five years The Public Art & Cultural Commission consists of nine members appointed by City Council.


Regular Scheduled Meetings


Notice:  The meeting time and the location will change effective with the February 2020 meeting.

The commission meets at 5:00 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of the month at the Asheville Area Arts Council’s new office at 409 Executive Park, Asheville, NC 28801.

The normal length of the meeting is one to two hours. Documents from prior meetings are available by e-mailing Stephanie Monson Dahl.




Member contact:  Katie Cornell (Chair),  Valeria Watson (Vice Chair),  Ali McGhee, Andrew Fletcher, Jay Fields, Johanna Hagarty, Pete Perez, Constance Richards, Jasmine Washington.

Contact members through email.

City council liaison:  Sheneika Smith.


Meetings Agendas and Documents

2020/01/23 Annual Report
2020/01/23 1/23/20 Agenda
2020/01/02 1/2/20 Annual Planning Session (Retreat) Agenda
2019/12/26 Meeting Cancelled
2019/11/21 11/21/2019 Agenda Minutes
2019/10/17 10/17/2019 Agenda Minutes
2019/09/26 09/26/2019 Agenda Minutes
2019/08/22 08/22/2019 Agenda Minutes
2019/07/25 Agenda 07/25/2019 Minutes
2019/06/27 06/27/2019 Agenda 06/27/2019 Documents
2019/05/23 05/23/2019 Agenda (meeting canceled) Documents
2019/04/25 04/25/2019 Agenda Documents
2019/03/28 03/28/2019 Agenda 03/28/2019 Minutes (no quorum)
2019/02/28 02/28/2019 Agenda 02/28/2019 Minutes
2019/01/24 01/24/2019 Agenda 01/24/2019 Minutes


Contact Information


Stephanie Monson Dahl


Updated 10/22/2019