African American Heritage Commission

The City-County African American Heritage Commission consists of nine members. Three of those members are appointed by the Asheville City Council, three are appointed by the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners, and three are appointed by the six appointed members.

The Commission is to advise the City Council and County Commissioners about the preservation, interpretation, and promotion of African American arts, history and culture.

Regular Scheduled Meetings

The African American Heritage Commission meets on the second Thursday of each month at 11:30 a.m. in the first floor Conference Room of City Hall.

NOTICE: The African American Heritage Commission on July 9 at 4:30 pm. 

Pursuant to North Carolina General Statute § 166A-19.24(f) this will be a remote meeting which the public can access by any of the following means:  

  • Watch live through the Engagement Hub at:
  • OR watch live on the City YouTube Channel 
  • Listen live by calling 855-925-2801 Enter Code 9607
  • Pre-recorded voicemail comments  by calling 855-925-2801 Enter Code 9607
  • Written public comments:

All public comments will be sent to the committee prior to the meeting; there is no live call in comments for this meeting.


Member contact: Lynn Smith (Chair)

DeWayne Barton (Vice Chair)


For current openings and application visit: Asheville Boards and Commission page.

Meetings Agendas and Documents

2020/07/09 07/09/2020 Agenda 07/09/2020 Documents
2020/03/12 03/12/2020 Agenda 03/12/2020 Documents
2020/02/13 02/13/2020 Agenda 02/13/2020 Documents
2020/01/09 01/09/2020 Agenda 01/09/2020 Documents
2019/11/14 11/14/2019 Agenda 11/14/2019 Documents
2019/10/10 10/10/2019 Agenda 10/10/2019 Documents
2019/09/12 09/12/2019 Agenda 09/12/2019 Documents
2019/08/08 08/08/2019 Agenda 08/08/2019 Documents
2019/07/20 07/20/2019 Agenda 07/20/2019 Documents
2019/07/11 07/11/2019 Agenda 07/11/2019 Documents
2019/05/09 05/09/2019 Agenda 05/09/2019 Documents
2019/04/11 04/11/2019 Agenda 04/11/2019 Documents
2019/02/14 02/14/2019 Agenda 02/14/2019 Documents
2019/02/10 01/10/2019 Agenda 01/10/2019 Documents

Updated 10/22/2019



Related Services

files with title records
Request public records

Visit this web portal to search and discover any public records previously or commonly requested as well as make a request for any new public records.        

African American Heritage Commission News

City Council meeting modified graphic
Asheville City Council continues remote meetings with new public comment procedure

    Due to the State and locally declared States of Emergency, there will be no public attendance at City Council meetings.    While we are Staying Safer at Home, City Council still wants you to have the opportunity to participate in the decisions of your government. There are three options for providing public comment. [...]

City Hall photo with flag
Applicants invited to apply for Asheville City Council vacancy

    The City of Asheville operates under a council-manager form of government. The Asheville City Council establishes the City’s policies and appoints the City Manager, who oversees day-to-day city operations and executes Council-established laws and policies.  The City Council also ensures the entire community is being served.   The City Council is made up of a mayor and [...]