Community Development

We’re still working on the content for this page. In the meantime, please search or visit the old site.


The Community Development Division is part of the City’s Community & Economic Development Department.

The Division works to build opportunities for community access to housing. Community Development manages and administers HUD funded programs for Asheville and a four county consortium consisting of Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania and Madison Counties. These programs provide affordable housing, economic opportunities and other benefits for low-income residents. They include the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME) and other programs funded by HUD. Most of the funding from these programs is distributed to organizations in Asheville and the four county consortium through a competitive application processes.

The Division also manages and administers City of Asheville funding for affordable housing and outside agencies. Affordable Housing programs include the Housing Trust Fund and Affordable Housing Fee Rebate program. The Asheville-Buncombe County Homelessness Initiative is also managed within the Community Development Division.

The Division supports Asheville area citizens on issues related to affordable housing and community development.


Community Development Staff

Nancy Williams, CD Analyst

nwilliams@ashevillenc.gov / 828 232-4503

Marvin Feinblatt, CD Financial Analyst

mfeinblatt@ashevillenc.gov / 828 259-5735

Andrew Mayronne, CD Analyst

amayronne@ashevillenc.gov / 828 259-5728

Jonathon Jones, CD Specialist/ NC HMIS Local Systems Administrator

jjones2@ashevillenc.gov / 828 259-5733

Megan Gaskell / Community Development Coordinator

mgaskell@ashevillenc.gov / 828 232- 4599

Paul D’Angelo / Interim Community Development Director

pdangelo@ashevillenc.gov / 828 251-4098

Brian Huskey / CD Analyst-Homelessness Lead

bhuskey@ashevillenc.gov / 828 251-4048