Community Development

Welcome to Community Development!

 

The Division works to build opportunities for community access to housing. Community Development manages and administers HUD funded programs for Asheville and a four-county consortium consisting of Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania and Madison Counties. These programs provide affordable housing, economic opportunities and other benefits for low-income residents. They include the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG), HOME Investment Partnerships Program (HOME) and other programs funded by HUD. Most of the funding from these programs is distributed to organizations in Asheville and the four county consortium through a competitive application processes.

The Division also manages and administers City of Asheville funding for affordable housing and outside agencies. Affordable Housing programs include the Housing Trust Fund and Affordable Housing Fee Rebate program. The Asheville-Buncombe County Homelessness Initiative is also managed within the Community Development Division.

The Division supports Asheville area citizens on issues related to affordable housing and community development.


Our webpages!

To help navigate the Community Development Division, please find the links to our webpages below. 

 


Get Involved!

 

To be added to the Community Development email listserv, please fill out our google form found here . For additional Information please contact Thana Alley at talley@ashevillenc.gov .

 

Consider joining one of our meetings below to get more involved.

 

AHAC provides guidance on Policies & Procedures to Preserve, Protect & Produce Affordable Housing.

ARHC is our regional consortium that helps manage HOME funds in our 4 County region – Buncombe, Henderson, Madison & Transylvania.

HIAC is the Committee responsible for implementing the Five Year Strategic Plan on Homelessness in Buncombe County.

HCD is made up of 3 City Council members who provide policy recommendations to Council on all matters relating to the creation and maintenance of affordable housing within the city, as well as services related to homelessness.

 


Community Development Staff

Jonathon Jones / Community Development Division Manager

jjones2@ashevillenc.gov / 828 259-5733

Megan Gaskell / CD Analyst – CDBG

mgaskell@ashevillenc.gov / 828 232- 4599

Christina Harris / CD Analyst – CDBG and HOME

charris@ashevillenc.gov /828 – 251- 4017

Laura Near / Interim CD Anlayst – CDBG – CV, CDBG and HOME 

lnear@ashevillenc.gov

Thana Alley/ CD Coordinator

talley@ashevillenc.gov/ 828-259-5728

Alex Mitchiner / CD Workforce Development  – CAYLA

amitchiner@ashevillenc.gov

Emily Ball / CD Homeless Services Systems Performance Lead

eball@ashevillenc.gov / 828 271-6129

Sasha Vrtunski/ Affordable Housing Officer 

svrtunski@ashevillenc.gov/ 828-259-5560

 


If you are looking for affordable housing, suffering a housing crisis, in need of rental assistance or down payment assistance, or you have concerns about our homeless community, 

Please Call 211. The service is free, confidential and available in any language.

 

 

 

X