Meet City Council


To share a message with all City Council members, email AshevilleNCCouncil@ashevillenc.gov.

asheville city council members group photo
Standing: Councilman Keith Young, Councilman Brian Haynes, Mayor Esther Manheimer, Councilwoman Julie Mayfield. Seated: Vice Mayor Gwen Wisler, Councilman Vijay Kapoor, Councilwoman Sheneika Smith

 

Individual Councilmember Email Addresses

Mayor Esther Manheimer – esthermanheimer@avlcouncil.com
Vice Mayor Gwen Wisler – gwenwisler@avlcouncil.com
Brian Haynes – brianhaynes@avlcouncil.com
Vijay Kapoor – vijaykapoor@avlcouncil.com
Julie Mayfield – juliemayfield@avlcouncil.com
Sheneika Smith – sheneikasmith@avlcouncil.com
Keith Young – keithyoung@avlcouncil.com


Meeting and Event Requests

If you would like to invite the mayor to an event or request a meeting with the mayor, you can submit a request to:

Jaime Matthews, Assistant to the City Manager
Phone: (828) 232-4541
E-mail: jmatthews@ashevillenc.gov

Please include the following information in your request:

  • Name of Requestor
  • Purpose of Meeting
  • Contact Information: (both e-mail and phone are preferred)
  • Date of Event
  • Time of Event
  • Location of Event
  • Amount of Time Request (up to 1 hr in 15 min increments)
  • Date Requested
  • If the Mayor is unable to attend, are you amenable to a councilmember attending in the mayor’s stead? (YES or NO)
  • Any other request or pertinent information for the Mayor or Councilmember you are requesting

Note: If you are requesting a speaking engagement, please attach or e-mail information in relation to the topic and desired event format to jmatthews@ashevillenc.gov.

You may also contact the city manager’s office directly to schedule meetings with the mayor.

 


Contact Information

You may send an email to all Council members at this email address: AshevilleNCCouncil@ashevillenc.gov

There are also opportunities to speak at Council Meetings. Read more about Council Meetings.

 


Updated 7/24/2020