Asheville Mayor, councilmembers sworn into office

Asheville Mayor Esther Manheimer takes the oath of office Dec. 5, 2017.

Surrounded by her family, Asheville Mayor Esther Manheimer
takes her oath of office for her second term Dec. 5, 2017.



Re-elected Asheville Mayor Esther Manheimer and three councilmembers were sworn into office Dec. 5 in City Hall’s Council Chambers.  These included re-elected councilwoman Gwen Wisler and newly elected councilmembers Sheneika Smith and Vijay Kapoor.


After the Pledge of Allegiance, Assistant City Manager Jade Dundas sang the National Anthem a cappella. Then, Buncombe County Superior Court Judge Alan Z. Thornburg administered the oaths of office.


After the swearing in, Mayor Manheimer thanked the voters for the election turnout and noted that the City now has its most diverse Council ever. She also added, “And for the first time ever, we have a majority women council.”


The Council’s first act during a brief organizational meeting was to re-elect Gwen Wisler as Vice Mayor.


The Mayor announced Resolutions of Appreciation to outgoing Councilmembers Cecil Bothwell and Gordon Smith. Afterward, Gordon Smith made remarks, thanking his supporters and saying he was honored to have served the residents of Asheville.


The new City Council will meet at 5 p.m. Dec. 19. The agenda will be posted on the City of Asheville website the Friday before the meeting (Dec. 15).


Here are pictures of Mayor Manheimer and Vice Mayor Wisler and newly elected councilmembers Sheneika Smith and Vijay Kapoor being sworn into office.