Fire Department Staff Directory

Asheville Fire Department


Asheville Fire Department business hours are Monday -Thursday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Main Office Line: 828-259-5636
Fire Marshal’s Division: 828-259-5640
Physical Address: 100 Court Plaza  Asheville, NC 28801
Mailing Address:   P.O. Box 7148 Asheville, NC 28802


Fire Chief

Mike Cayse

Chief Cayse has over 34 years of experience rising through the ranks in the Cincinnati Fire Department before joining the Asheville Fire Department on January 2, 2024. Chief Cayse has extensive experience in managing firegrounds, fire and rescue special operations, securing grant funding, and serving as the  FEMA USAR Ohio Task Force 1 Task Force Leader, FEMA Functional Group Leader, and liaison to the Ohio National Guard. Chief Cayse has responded to numerous USAR deployments across the nation including 9/11 and the Surfside Condominium Collapse in Florida. He also has numerous fire service-related certifications, and awards, and has had his work published in national fire service publications. Cayse has a BS in Fire Safety Engineering from the University of Cincinnati and a Master of Public Administration from Northern Kentucky University.

Deputy Fire Chief

Chris Budzinski

Deputy Fire Chief Chris Budzinski joined the Asheville Fire Department in 2001. He was assigned to Engine 1 and Engine 3 as a firefighter. He was promoted to Lieutenant in 2007 and assigned to Squad 1 and then Engine 1. Chief Budzinski was promoted to Captain in 2010. In 2012 Chief Budzinski was promoted to Battalion Chief and served in Battalion 3 and then in Battalion 1. Chief Budzinski was the fire department’s Accreditation Manager from 2008 until 2012. He has an Associate’s degree in Fire Protection Technology from Gaston College and a Bachelor’s degree in Fire Safety Engineering Technology from UNC-Charlotte. As Deputy Fire Chief, Chief Budzinski will be responsible for coordinating with the Fire Chief for the planning, organizing & directing all phases of the operation of the fire department. This includes the development of policy, leadership vision & budget organization and implementation for all elements of the department.


Assistant Fire Chief – Operations Bureau

Patrick Crudup


Assistant Fire Chief – Support Services Bureau

Michael Coggins, Assistant Fire Chief


Assistant Fire Chief – Emergency Management Bureau

Assistant Fire Chief, Jeremy Knightom



Organizational Chart


Updated 02/24/2020