Get or renew a precious metal permit

Dealer and Permitting Requirements

Any person engaging in the business of purchasing precious metals in North Carolina must obtain a precious metal permit. Precious metal dealers should review and follow North Carolina General Statutes for precious metal regulations. The precious metals business law does not apply to pawn shops which are governed by N.C. G.S. 66-385 through 66-399.

Compliance with the precious metals law is the responsibility of the business owner. Each business is advised to consult with their attorney to ensure that they are meeting the requirements of the statute. Information provided here is only intended as a guide.

Individual permits are required for each location where business is conducted. There is a 30-day waiting period before initial permits are issued. Permits are valid for 12 months after the issuance date and may be renewed without a waiting period once the dealer has applied for renewal and paid an annual fee.

Applying for your permit

To apply for an initial precious metal permit, a completed Initial Precious Metal Permit Checklist is required. The checklist is a guide to the required documentation for application packets.

Documentation for application packets may include (and vary based on type and number of supplemental permits):

Fees for application packets submitted at the same time may be combined into one check e.g., one initial permit application with two employee packets can be submitted with a $276.00 check.

Upon completion of all requirements of the permit process, the completed packet can be delivered to the Asheville Police Department front desk Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. or via mail to:

Asheville Police Department
Attention: Precious Metal Records
PO Box 7148
Asheville NC 28802

Special Occasion Permits

Precious Metal Dealers wishing to apply for a special occasion permit must follow the same procedures and submit all documentation required for an initial dealer’s permit. Please indicate that the application is for a special occasion in the appropriate area on the Initial Precious Metal Permit Checklists form. A copy of all previously issued Precious Metal Dealer Permit(s) will be required.

The filing fee for a special occasion permit application is $180.00 and may be renewed annually.

Renewing your permit

To apply for a precious metal permit renewal, a completed Precious Metal Annual Renewal Checklist is required. The checklist is a guide to the required documentation for renewal application packets. Renewal applications for Precious Metal Dealer permits must be filed within 30-days of expiration.

  • Renewals don’t require a 30-day waiting period
  • Fingerprints, photographs, and criminal record checks, and record check consent form are not required for renewal

Documentation for renewal application packets may include (and vary based on type and number of supplemental permits):

Upon completion of the renewal packet, the packet can be delivered to the Asheville Police Department front desk Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m. or via mail to:

Asheville Police Department
Attention: Precious Metal Records
PO Box 7148
Asheville NC 28802

Purchase record requirements

Records of precious metal purchases​ must be submitted to the Asheville Police Department within 48-hours​ of the purchase by mail to the Asheville Police Department or via Leads Online​ www.leadsonline.com. Leads Online works in real time, helping you easily manage your purchases within the time requirement. This service is FREE​ to the business.

All purchases must be maintained for a period of 7 days​ in the original condition on the licensed premises or other location specified in the permit application.

For more information regarding the precious metal process in Asheville, contact 828-259-5891.


Contact

Sierra Richardson
Asheville Police Department
srichardson@ashevillenc.gov
828-259-5891