Sustainability Advisory Committee on Energy and the Environment

The Sustainability Advisory Committee on Energy and the Environment is the committee responsible for developing and recommending policy to support topics such as sustainable energy, waste reduction, sustainable economic development and land use planning. The committee consists of nine Asheville City residents that are appointed by City Council. The term of office is three years.

Regular Scheduled Meetings

The current meeting schedule is the third Wednesday of each month at 3:30 p.m. in the First Floor Conference Room in City Hall. The normal length of the meeting is two hours. Meeting materials are posted on this web page two days prior to the meeting.

Notice: Due to COVID-19 the Committee is meeting virtually and on an as-needed basis. The next virtual meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, July 20, 2022 at 3:30 p.m.

Pursuant to North Carolina General Statute § 166A-19.24(f) this will be a remote meeting which the public can access by any of the following means:



Please visit the Sustainability  Advisory Committee on Energy and the Environment Public Engagement Page to confirm which public input options are available for specific meetings.

  • Voicemail public comments: Please call: 855-925-2801 Enter Code 8071. Comments will be limited to 3 minutes.
  • Written public comments, please see meeting specific email on the Engagement Hub, or general email here.

NOTICE: The agenda commenting period will be closed at 5:00 p.m. the day before the meeting. All public comments will be sent to the committee prior to the meeting but may not be read aloud.


Member contact: Anna Priest (Chair), Anne Keller (Vice Chair), Maggie Gulick, Alison Ormsby, Chris Pelrine, Kim Austin, Tim Ormond, Steve Baron, Michael Totten

For current openings and application visit the Boards and Commissions page.


Agendas and Documents



May 18, 2022 Agenda May 18, 2022 Documents
March 16, 2022 Agenda March 16, 2022 Documents
January 19, 2022 Agenda January 19, 2022 Documents
October 20, 2021 Agenda October 20, 2021 Documents
 August 18, 2021 Agenda August 18, 2021 Documents 
June 16, 2021 Agenda June 16, 2021 Documents
March 8, 2021 Agenda March 8, 2021 Documents
January 20, 2021 Agenda January 20, 2021 Documents


Contact Information


For archived materials please contact Bridget Herring at 828-259-5558.