Sorry, this page has moved!
Please click here to go to the new location.

Investigations

The Criminal Investigations Division employs detectives who investigate a wide range of crimes, including homicides, suspicious deaths, robberies, aggravated assaults, motor vehicle theft, white collar crime and fraud. They also investigate burglaries, larcenies, crimes committed against juveniles, runaways, sexual assaults, and missing persons.

Detectives are assigned to the following geographical areas consistent with the patrol districts: West Asheville; North and Central Asheville; and East and South Asheville. Detectives are assigned a particular geographical area to enhance the development of detailed knowledge of crime trends and patterns as well as to promote relationships with the community.

If you have information related to drugs, please call the Drug Tip Line at (828) 259-5812.

Support Services:

Criminal Investigations Staff Directory

Name Email Contact Number Investigative Area / Title
Lt. Joseph Silberman jsilberman@ashevillenc.gov 259-5921 Criminal Investigations
Commander
Major Case Unit
Sgt. Charles Wells cwells@ashevillenc.gov 259-5812 Major Case Unit Supervisor 
Detective Christopher Dennis cdennis@ashevillenc.gov 259-5850 Major Case Unit
Detective Kelly Loiacono kloiacono@ashevillenc.gov 259-5854 Major Case Unit
Detective Steve Coon scoon@ashevillenc.gov 271-6135 Major Case Unit
Detective Jonathan Morgan jmorgan@ashevillenc.gov 259-5866 Major Case Unit
Detective William Olson  wolson@ashevillenc.gov 259-5923  Major Case Unit
Detective Tracy Crowe tcrowe@ashevillenc.gov 271-6128 Violent Crime
Detective Kevin Taylor  ktaylor@ashevillenc.gov 259-5945 Cold Case
Special Victims Units
Sgt. Diana Loveland  dloveland@ashevillenc.gov 271-6134 / 250-6909 Special Victims Supervisor 
Detective Heavan Mitchell hmitchell@ashevillenc.gov 250-6906 Special Victims
Detective Brad Butterfield bbutterfield@ashevillenc.gov 250-6905  Special Victims
Detective Andrew Barker abarker@ashevillenc.gov 250-6911 Special Victims
Detective Ian Luther iluther@ashevillenc.gov 250-6912 Special Victims
Detective Ebony Ward eward@ashevillenc.gov  250-3924 Special Victims 
Officer Doug Sheehan dsheehan@ashevillenc.gov 250-6910 Special Victims
General Investigations Unit
Sgt. Mike McClanahan mmcclanahan@ashevillenc.gov  259-5486  General Assignment Supervisor 
Sgt. Brett Maltby  bmatlby@ashevillenc.gov 259-5471 General Assignment Supervisor 
Detective Lara Raymond lraymond@ashevillenc.gov 259-5882 General Assignment 
Detective Brad Beddow bbeddow@ashevillenc.gov 259-5897 General Assignment 
Detective Scott James djames@ashevillenc.gov 251-4103  General Assignment 
Detective Kyle Weaver kweaver@ashevillenc.gov 259-5926  General Assignment  
Detective Albert Ball aball@ashevillenc.gov 259-5958 General Assignment
Detective Alfred Rice
arice@ashevillenc.gov
259-5923
General Assignment 
Detective Adam Roach aroach@ashevillenc.gov 271-6127  General Assignment 
Detective Ian Cooper  icooper@ashevillenc.gov 259-5910  General Assignment 
Detective Phil Allen
pallen@ashevillenc.gov
259-5970
Fraud
Detective Brian Hogan bhogan@ashevillenc.gov 259-5930  Fraud
Detective Tony Johnson ajohnson@ashevillenc.gov 259-5929 Computer Crimes
Detective Travis Barkley tbarkley@ashevillenc.gov 259-5931 Computer Crimes

 

Top