Sorry, this page has moved!
Please click here to go to the new location.

Investigations

The Criminal Investigations Division employs detectives who investigate a wide range of crimes, including homicides, suspicious deaths, robberies, aggravated assaults, motor vehicle theft, white collar crime and fraud. They also investigate burglaries, larcenies, crimes committed against juveniles, runaways, sexual assaults, and missing persons.

Detectives are assigned to the following geographical areas consistent with the patrol districts: West Asheville; North and Central Asheville; and East and South Asheville. Detectives are assigned a particular geographical area to enhance the development of detailed knowledge of crime trends and patterns as well as to promote relationships with the community.

If you have information related to drugs, please call the Drug Tip Line at (828) 259-5812.

Support Services:

Criminal Investigations Staff Directory

Name Email Contact Number Investigative Area / Title
Captain Stony Gonce sgonce@ashevillenc.gov 251-4095 Division Commander
Lt. Joseph Silberman jsilberman@ashevillenc.gov 259-5921 Criminal Investigations
Commander
 Major Case Unit
Sgt. Charles Wells cwells@ashevillenc.gov 259-5812 Major Case Unit Supervisor 
Detective Sean Davis  sdavis@ashevillenc.gov 271-6127 Major Case Unit
Detective Kelly Loiacono kloiacono@ashevillenc.gov 259-5854 Major Case Unit
Detective Steve Coon scoon@ashevillenc.gov 271-6135 Major Case Unit
Detective Jonathan Morgan jmorgan@ashevillenc.gov 259-5866 Major Case Unit
Detective William Olson  wolson@ashevillenc.gov 259-5923  Major Case Unit
Detective Tracy Crowe tcrowe@ashevillenc.gov 271-6128 Violent Crime
Detective Kevin Taylor  ktaylor@ashevillenc.gov 259-5945 Cold Case
 Special investigations Unit
Sgt. Angie Tullis  atullis@ashevillenc.gov 259-5471/ 250-6909 Special Investigations Supervisor 
Detective Tony Johnson ajohnson@ashevillenc.gov 259-5929 Computer Crimes Unit
Detective Travis Barkley tbarkley@ashevillenc.gov 259-5931 Computer Crimes Unit
Detective Brad Butterfield bbutterfield@ashevillenc.gov 250-6905  Juvenile/Sexual Assault
Detective Andrew Barker abarker@ashevillenc.gov 250-6911 Juvenile/Sexual Assault
Detective Ian Luther iluther@ashevillenc.gov 259-6912 Domestic Violence
Officer Doug Sheehan dsheehan@ashevillenc.gov 250-6910 Family Justice Center
General Assignment
Sgt. Mike McClanahan mmcclanahan@ashevillenc.gov  259-5486  General Assignment Supervisor 
Sgt. Diana Loveland dloveland@ashevillenc.gov 271-6134 General Assignment Supervisor 
Detective Lara Raymond lraymond@ashevillenc.gov 259-5882 West District
Detective Christopher Dennis cdennis@ashevillenc.gov 259-5850 West District
Detective Scott James djames@ashevillenc.gov 251-4103  South/East District
Detective Phil Allen pallen@ashevillenc.gov 259-5970 South/East District
Detective Kyle Weaver kweaver@ashevillenc.gov 259-5926 North/Central District
 Detective Chris Byers cbyers@ashevillenc.gov 259-5911 Fraud
Detective Brian Hogan bhogan@ashevillenc.gov 259-5930  Fraud

 

Top