Legal

Mission

The Legal Services Department is dedicated to supporting the mission, direction and goals of the City Council by providing high quality legal services to the City of Asheville.

About the Department

The Legal Services Department advises and represents the City of Asheville in all settings where legal advice and representation are needed or requested.  The department provides advice to City Council, the city manager, city departments, and boards and commissions.  The goals of the department include:

  • Implement city goals and objectives through appropriate legal processes.
  • Assist in the development and presentation of legislative programs.
  • Initiate or defend legal action as necessary in support of city goals and objectives.
  • Provide research and advice to City Council in support of Council initiatives.
  • Provide continued high quality legal service to internal as well as external customers.
  • Provide or arrange for effective legal representation for all lawsuits. 

 

 

CONTACT INFORMATION

Robin Currin, City Attorney
rcurrin@ashevillenc.gov

McLean Moore, Executive Assistant
mmoore@ashevillenc.gov

828-259-5610

Assistant City Attorneys

Kelly Whitlock, Deputy City Attorney
kwhitlock@ashevillenc.gov
828-259-5613

Jannice Ashley
jashley@ashevillenc.gov
828-259-5612

John Maddux
jmaddux@ashevillenc.gov
828-259-5616

Catherine Hofmann
chofmann@ashevillenc.gov
828-259-5473

 

Location: Second Floor, Asheville City Hall
Mailing: 
PO Box 7148, Asheville NC 28802

Office Hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., Monday - Friday

Top