AFD Staff Directory

Asheville Fire Department

Business Hours Monday -Thursday 8:00 am - 6:00 pm
Main Office Line: 828-259-5636
Physical Address: 100 Court Plaza  Asheville, NC 28801
Mailing Address:   P.O. Box 7148 Asheville, NC 28802

FIRE CHIEF

Scott T. Burnette
828-259-5636
stburnette@ashevillenc.gov

Fire Chief Scott Burnette joined the Asheville Fire Department in 1995. He was promoted to Engineer in 2001 assigned to Engine Company 1. He was promoted to Lieutenant in 2004 assigned to Engine Company 2, and again to Captain in 2006 assigned to Rescue Company 1. in 2006 he was promoted to Assistant Chief. Chief Burnette was promoted to the Chief of the Asheville Fire Department in November of 2009 and continues to serve in this position today. Chief Burnette has an Associate's degree in Fire Protection Technology from Gaston College, a Bachelor’s degree in Fire Engineering Technology from UNC-Charlotte, and a Masters degree in Executive Fire Service Leadership from Grand Canyon University. Chief Burnette is a graduate of the United States Fire Administration's National Fire Academy's Executive Fire Officer Program. In 2004, he received his Chief Fire Officer Designation through the Center for Public Safety Excellence.

DEPUTY FIRE CHIEF

Chris Budzinski
828-259-5636
cbudzinski@ashevillenc.gov

Deputy Fire Chief Chris Budzinski joined the Asheville Fire Department in 2001. He was assigned to Engine 1 and Engine 3 as a firefighter. He was promoted to Lieutenant in 2007 and assigned to Squad 1 and then Engine 1. Chief Budzinski was promoted to Captain in 2010. In 2012 Chief Budzinski was promoted to Battalion Chief and served in Battalion 3 and then in Battalion 1. Chief Budzinski was the fire department’s Accreditation Manager from 2008 until 2012. He has an Associate’s degree in Fire Protection Technology from Gaston College and a Bachelor’s degree in Fire Safety Engineering Technology from UNC-Charlotte. As Deputy Fire Chief, Chief Budzinski will be responsible for coordinating with the Fire Chief for the planning, organizing & directing all phases of the operation of the fire department. This includes development of policy, leadership vision & budget organization and implementation for all elements of the department.

ASSISTANT FIRE CHIEF 

Barry Hendren
828-259-5636
bhendren@ashevillenc.gov

ASSISTANT FIRE CHIEF

Michael Coggins
828-259-5636
mcoggins@ashevillenc.gov

DIVISION FIRE CHIEF -Fire Marshal

Kelly Hinz
828-259-5640
khinz@ashevillenc.gov

DIVISION FIRE CHIEF - Administration

Dan Flinn
828-259-5636
dflinn@ashevillenc.gov

DIVISION FIRE CHIEF -Emergency Management

Jeremy Knighton
828-259-5636
jknighton@ashevillenc.gov

 

DIVISION FIRE CHIEF - Training

Wes Rogers
828-232-4511
wrogers@ashevillenc.gov

PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

Kelley Klope
828-251-4011
kklope@ashevillenc.gov

APPARATUS OFFICER and LOGISTICS

Bryon Silvers
828-259-5636
bsilvers@ashevillenc.gov

FIRE AND LIFE SAFETY EDUCATOR

828-259-5644

Organizational Chart


 

Top