Community Relations

COMMUNICATION & PUBLIC ENGAGEMENT

Mission

The Communication & Public Engagement Division (formerly Community Relations) focuses on making city services and information more accessible to communities, neighborhoods and individuals in Asheville. Community Relations staff members are committed to determining community needs, responding proactively to community concerns and tailoring city services to better meet residents' needs. 

About the Division

The Communication & Public Engagement Division is responsible for the city's strategic communications, including media relations, community relations, intergovernmental relations and internal communications. It seeks the best ways for the city to communicate its priorities and achieve its policy objectives, and designs public education and community outreach initiatives to inform citizens and the media about city services and policy. The division's responsibilities include:

External Communication

Internal Communication

Media Relations

Neighborhood Services

Government Television

 

receive city News in your inbox!


 

Contact Information 

Communication & Public Engagement
Second Floor, Asheville City Hall
8:30 a.m.-5 p.m., Monday-Friday
P.O. Box 7148, Asheville, NC 28802
(828) 232-4507

Staff Directory

Dawa Hitch
Director of Communication &
Public Engagement
828.259.5981
dhitch@ashevillenc.gov
 Marsha Stickford
 Neighborhood Services
 Coordinator
 828.259.5506
 mstickford@ashevillenc.gov

 Christy Edwards
 Web Content Manager
 828.232.4504
cedwards@ashevillenc.gov
             

 Dan Phairas
 Media Specialist &
 The Asheville Govt Channel
 828.232.4594
 dphairas@ashevillenc.gov
  Joey Robison
Communications Specialist
828.232.4517
jrobison@ashevillenc.gov
Christina Hallingse
Communications Specialist - APD
828.259.5881
challingse@ashevillenc.gov
Polly McDaniel
Communications Specialist
828.232.4507
pmcdaniel@ashevillenc.gov 

 

 


Stay Connected