African American Heritage Commission

In This Section


    The City-County African American Heritage Commission consists of 9 members - 3 appointed by the Asheville City Council, 3 appointed by the Buncombe County Board of Commissioners, and 3 appointed by the six appointed members.

    The Commission is to advise the City Council and County Commissioners about the preservation, interpretation, and promotion of African American arts, history and culture.

    The Commission's regular meeting time and place is the 2nd Thursday of each month at 11:30 a.m. in the First Floor North Conference Room in City Hall.

    Chair - Sasha Mitchell -

    If you would like to volunteer as a member of the African American Heritage Commission of Asheville and Buncombe County, you may apply at the links below:

    Residents of Buncombe County may apply through at the Buncombe County Board Appointment page, linked here.

    Residents of Asheville may apply through the City of Asheville Boards and Commissions page linked here, or the Buncombe County Board Appointment page linked here.


    12/08/16 Agenda    
    11/09/16 Agenda
    10/13/16 Agenda Minutes  City Council's Goals and Vision
    09/08/16 Agenda Minutes  
    08/11/16 Agenda Minutes  
    07/14/16 Canceled Canceled Canceled
    06/09/16 Agenda    Documents
    05/12/16 No Agenda N/A Meeting Notes (No Quorum) 
    04/14/16  Agenda N/A Document; Meeting Notes (No Quorum) 
    03/10/16 Agenda Minutes  
    02/09/16 Agenda Minutes  
    01/21/16 Agenda Minutes  
    11/12/15 Agenda Minutes  
    10/08/15 Agenda  Minutes  
    09/10/15 Agenda  Minutes   
    08/13/15  Agenda Minutes   
    07/09/15 Agenda Minutes  
    06/11/15 Agenda Minutes  
    05/14/15 Agenda Minutes  
    04/09/15 Agenda N/A  No Quorum; AAHC Roster 
    03/12/15 Agenda Minutes  
    02/12/15 Agenda Minutes  
    01/08/15 Agenda Minutes  
    12/11/14 Agenda Minutes  

    Stay Connected